Suck this, Stoker!

Did that title grab your attention? Did you see what I did there?

Now, on to this post.

So, I’m reading Dracula–not for the first time. In fact, can’t remember how many times I have read the novel, but it’s been a while. Can I just admit right now, right here, that I want to open-palm slap Bram Stoker and every other man from that century? I mean, I love Dracula, but I can’t tolerate the sexism of the late 1800s. I don’t know who is more fortunate, myself or everyone else, that I was not born in that time period.

Here is a sampling… with emphasis added…

“I am truly thankful that she is to be left out of our future work, and even of our deliberations.  It is too great a strain for a woman to bear.  I did not think so at first but I know better now.” –because women can only bear children.

“I want to keep up with Jonathan’s studies, and I have been practicing shorthand very assiduously. When we are married I will be able to be useful to Jonathan” — because, apparently, being the woman she is simply isn’t enough.

I think I am going to persuade my seniors to write a feminist critique. There is so much evidence to use. 

 

Now that I got that off of my delicate chest, here are some of my other favorite quotes…

“All men are mad in some way or the other, and inasmuch as you deal discreetly with your madmen, so deal with God’s madmen too, the rest of the world.”

“No man knows till he has suffered from the night how sweet and dear to his heart and eye the morning can be.”

“But a stranger in a strange land, he is no one. Men know him not, and to know not is to care not for.” – especially love, considering I just read Heinlein’s Stranger in a Strange Land.

“We learn from failure, not from success!” – can’t remember which character said this. It may have been Van Helsing.

“Ah, it is the fault of our science that it wants to explain all, and if it explain not, then it says there is nothing to explain. But yet we see around us every day the growth of new beliefs, which think themselves new, and which are yet but the old, which pretend to be young, like the fine ladies at the opera.” — this makes me consider the current trend of technology in education.

“And yet, unless my senses deceive me, the old centuries had, and have, powers of their own which mere ‘modernity’ cannot kill.”

“Up to now I never quite knew what Shakespeare meant when he made Hamlet say, ‘My tablets! Quick, my tablets! ’tis meet that I put it down,’ etc., For now, feeling as though my own brain were unhinged or as if the shock had come which must end in its undoing, I turn to my diary for repose.” — Hey! That’s how I feel about writing! How sweet.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Currently Reading, musing

Leave a Reply

